L’intimité après un cancer de la prostate

Nous sommes tombés par hasard sur cet article portant sur le sujet tabou des rapports intimes après une chirurgie de la prostate. Un sujet opportun s’il en est un le jour de la Saint-Valentin où l’on célèbre l’amour, les relations et tout ce qui s’en suit.  

On parle peu d’intimité dans les discussions sur les difficultés du cancer de la prostate, même si elle fera partie des changements les plus importants que les hommes et leurs partenaires vivront dans leurs relations après l’intervention chirurgicale.  
 
Diane and Rob Kikkert

Diane et Rob Kikkert ont participé à une étude pilote sur la pleine conscience pour les patients atteints de cancer de la prostate après une intervention chirurgicale.

Mention de source : JASON PAYNE/PNG, Vancouver Sun

Pour les médecins, il importe avant tout de sauver la vie de l’homme. Les effets secondaires difficiles de la chirurgie ne peuvent faire obstacle à cet objectif. 

Il n’en demeure pas moins que des vaisseaux sanguins peuvent subir des dommages irréversibles, ce qui peut entraîner la dysfonction érectile et une baisse de l’activité sexuelle. De nombreux couples décrivent l’expérience comme un processus de deuil qui a de terribles répercussions sur leur vie amoureuse.   

N’est-il pas heureux que Cancer de la Prostate Canada consacre des fonds à des programmes qui explorent les solutions susceptibles de rétablir l’intimité après une intervention à l’aide de la formation à la pleine conscience, qui repose sur l’absence de jugement et l’importance de vivre pleinement le moment présent?

Il n’est pas étonnant que les ateliers aient donné d’excellents résultats et aidé des couples touchés par le cancer de la prostate à vivre des vies intimes heureuses après une chirurgie du cancer. 

Vous trouverez l’article complet à VancouverSun.com (en anglais seulement)
Posted: 2018-02-12 14:44:07

Intimacy after Prostate Cancer

We just fell on this article about the taboo topic of sex after prostate surgery.  Timely topic for Valentine’s Day, when we’re supposed to be celebrating love and relationships, and everything that goes into that.

Intimacy is rarely up for discussion when people think about the challenges of prostate cancer, even though it has to be one of the most important changes that men and their partners experience in relationships post-surgery. 
 
Diane and Rob Kikkert

Diane and Rob Kikkert participated in a pilot study on mindfulness for post-surgery prostate cancer patients.

Photo Credit: JASON PAYNE / PNG, Vancouver Sun

For doctors, the priority is to save the man’s life. So the difficult side effects of surgery can’t get in the way of that goal.

But the reality is that irreversible damage to blood vessels can happen, which can result in erectile dysfunction and a decline in sexual activity. Many couples describe the experience as grieving process that takes a big toll on their love lives.  

So how great is it that Prostate Cancer Canada is funding research, led by Dr. Lori Brotto, to explore options for mending  post-surgery intimacy using mindfulness education, which involves avoiding judgements and focusing on enjoying life in the moment?

Not surprising that the workshops have been really successful in helping couples affected by prostate cancer live happy, intimate post-cancer-surgery lives.
Posted: 2018-02-12 2:44:07 PM



To learn more about other initiatives supporting men and their loved ones to cope
with sexual side-effects of prostate cancer, check out the TrueNTH Canada pilot project: 
Sexual Health and Rehabilitation eClinic (SHAReClinic)

Tags

Local Hero Award #oneineight #unhommesurhuit A Survivorship Action Partnership Active adt advanced Alex Baumann Annual Moose & Goose Club Black Tie Dinner antigen ASAP athlete awareness Beam bénévole biopsies biopsy Bismar blood BOSSS Tournament Boutros Brachytherapy Bristow british Buttyan Calgary Canada Cancer caregiver Carreauté catheter CFL charity Chemotherapy cherry collaboration collage columbia Conor Malone Cruisin’ For A Cure Canada Dad Daddy dads Dakar Rally day de detection diagnosis diagnostiqué digital dna do Do it for Dads doctor don donate DRE early Early detection ED Edmonton Education erection eric Eskimos exam experience External family Father Father and Sons Xcanada Father’s Day Walk/Run Father's Day FDiagnosis Football for Fred Chartrand funding fundraising fundrasier gènes genetics Golf Town Charity Classic health High-Intensity history hockey Hope Hormone international it Jack Layton L’ADN la l'APS Len Levesque lifelabs lottery loved mccormack Media men's moustache moustachus Movember MRI Murray Hill national nationale navigator of Olivia Chow one ones papa Paul PCC PCC Atlantic PCCN pee Pilot Grant Program Plaid post-surgery pour pre-surgery prosate cancer Prostate prostate cancer Prostate Cancer Awareness Day Prostate Cancer Canada Prostate Cancer Canada Network Prostate Cancer Canada Network Conference prostatecancer Prostatectomy Protect the 5 Hole PSA PSA blood test PSA levels PSA test PSA value psatest Radiation Radical Ralph Randy Remington Randy Remington Charity Golf Classic recipe recovery rectal remember Research researcher Resources Rhodes Ride Rising risk Rob robyn Rocco Rocco Rossi Rocktheroadraffle Rossi run Scotiabank StickIt Scotiabank Stick-It screened screening semaine sexuality Sled specific Star step Step Up Steve Jones story Stuart Edmonds support surgery Surveillance survivant survivor survivors survivorship programs T2:ERG Tarek test Test de l'APS testdelAPS testing The Breast Friends The Randy Remington Golf Classic Therapy TIEd Together TIEd Together photo exhibit Treatment tribute tumours up urine urine test urologist volunteer volunteering Volunteerism volunteers Wake Up Call Breakfast walk Walk Run week World