Améliorer la précision des biopsies

Dr Joseph L. Chin (subvention de recherche obtenue en 2003) 

Les médecins et leurs patients doivent prendre des décisions très difficiles lorsque les biopsies révèlent la présence de lésions précancéreuses, car elles risquent effectivement de devenir cancéreuses, et il faut alors soit les enlever, soit les surveiller. 

L’ablation chirurgicale (ou prostatectomie) de toute la prostate en raison de la présence d’une minuscule lésion précancéreuse ne constitue pas un traitement idéal parce qu’elle comporte des risques et des effets indésirables. Il est cependant impossible de repérer et de surveiller des lésions minuscules à l’aide des techniques courantes (biopsie à l’aiguille sous échoguidage bidimensionnelle). 

Le Dr Chin et son équipe ont mis au point et à l’essai un logiciel de pointe qui crée une image échographique tridimensionnelle. Ce nouveau système permettra aux médecins de déterminer l’emplacement exact des lésions. Comme le nouveau logiciel est compatible avec les appareils à ultrasons et les techniques courantes de biopsie, il sera rentable. On entreprendra bientôt des essais sur des patients, et le premier article sur cette technologie expérimentale est sous presse. 




Inscrivez-vous à nos nouvelles

* obligatoire






 
Contenu en vedette
Des chercheurs de l'UdeS font une découverte majeure

Premier cancer en importance chez les hommes, le cancer de la prostate touche un Canadien sur sept.
plus


Cancer de la prostate nouvelles

Making Biospsies More Accurate

Dr. Joseph L. Chin (2003 Research Grant)

Physicians and patients have tough decisions to make when pre-cancerous lesions are found during biopsies because they have the potential to become cancerous and must be either removed or monitored. 

Surgically removing the whole prostate for the sake of a tiny pre-cancerous lesion is not ideal since prostatectomy has side effects and risks. However, pinpointing and monitoring tiny lesions is almost impossible using the standard techniques (needle biopsy guided by two-dimensional ultrasound imaging). 

Dr. Joseph Chin and his team are developing and testing state-of-the-art software that creates three-dimensional ultrasound images during biopsy. The new system will let doctors precisely locate lesions. Because the new software is compatible with current ultrasound machines and biopsy techniques, it will be cost-effective. Patient trials are not far off and the first publication on this experimental technology is in press.


Subscribe to our free monthly e-newsletter!

* indicates required


PCC Spotlight
Can exercise help slow prostate cancer growth?

Toronto, March 12, 2018 – Funded by Prostate Cancer Canada (PCC), Dr.

Prostate Cancer Canada’s Rock the Road Raffle sells out for 5th consecutive year

February 23, 2018 – TORONTO, ON – For the fifth year and counting, Prostate Cancer Canada’s (PCC) Rock the Road Raffle brought together Ontarians from all walks of life to both support an important cause and gain a chance to win a one-of-a-kind dream car.

Do men’s toenails contain clues about prostate cancer prevention?

Toronto, January 29, 2018 – Funded by Prostate Cancer Canada (PCC), Dr.

Click here for news archive