X
La SCC surveille de près les recommandations de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada concernant le coronavirus (COVID-19) afin de réagir à celles-ci. Apprenez-en plus

Le faible taux d’oxygène dans des cellules tumorales mène à une découverte importante

Des chercheurs de l’Institut ontarien de recherche sur le cancer (OICR) ont découvert des marqueurs dans des cellules tumorales peu oxygénées qui pourraient prédire la progression du cancer.

Paul Boutros, Ph. D., chercheur principal de l’étude explique :

« Au début, nous étions motivés par l’incapacité à faire la distinction entre les cancers de la prostate à progression lente et les cancers de la prostate virulents, mais nos résultats nous orientent vers des traitements qui pourraient être mis au point pour de nombreux types de tumeurs. »

Vinayak Bhandari
Les résultats peuvent aussi mener des chercheurs à mettre au point de nouveaux types de traitements qui ciblent le cancer qui devient résistant parce que les cellules manquent d’oxygène.  

Les cellules tumorales prospèrent dans les milieux peu oxygénés, mais pas les cellules normales. Autrement dit, les cellules cancéreuses sont souvent capables de résister aux traitements et finissent par se propager. Les chercheurs ont trouvé plusieurs gènes qui ont muté plus souvent dans des cellules cancéreuses peu oxygénées et découvert de nouveaux modèles de croissance tumorale dans ces cancers.

Vinayak Bhandari, l’auteur principal de l’étude, dit que les travaux ont contribué à comprendre en profondeur les tumeurs et ont créé une signature biologique qui peut cibler les patients qui pourraient bénéficier d’une thérapie plus poussée.
 
Stuart Edmonds, Ph. D.

Plus de 8 000 tumeurs de 19 types de cancer différents, dont des tumeurs de la prostate du projet CPC-GENE financé par Cancer de la Prostate Canada et Movember, ont été utilisé pour obtenir ces résultats qui pourraient aider les médecins à choisir des traitements plus efficaces pour chaque homme atteint du cancer de la prostate.

Stuart Edmonds, Ph. D., vice-président, Recherche, Promotion de la Santé et Soutien des survivants :

« Nous comblons une lacune essentielle des traitements personnalisés, l’avenir des soins pour l’homme sur sept au Canada qui recevra un diagnostic de cancer de la prostate. »

« Cette recherche offre de nouvelles possibilités d’améliorer les résultats pour les hommes et de donner aux médecins les outils pour choisir le traitement qui conviendra le mieux à chacun des patients, dit-il encore. Il s’ensuivra au bout du compte une meilleure qualité de vie et un taux de survie supérieur. »

Dr Robert Bristow, précédemment codirecteur du projet CPC-GENE, dit que même si l’on savait déjà que l’hypoxie (manque d’oxygène) était associée à un cancer de la prostate virulent, les chercheurs ne comprenaient pas encore exactement comment elle aidait les tumeurs à croître chez les humains. « Nous pouvons maintenant commencer à exploiter ces résultats dans de nouveaux essais cliniques pour cibler en même temps l’hypoxie et les gènes anormaux », dit-il.
 
MM. Boutros, Fraser et Bristow dans leur laboratoire du projet CPC-GENE

L’étude a reçu du financement de Cancer de la Prostate Canada, de la Fondation Movember et de l’OICR par le truchement du projet CPC-GENE – le plus gros projet de recherche sur la génomique du cancer du monde. Le projet a également reçu un financement de l’Institut de recherche Terry Fox. Les données sur les échantillons de tumeurs ont été fournies par CPC-GENE, le Consortium international sur le génome du cancer et le projet Cancer Genome Atlas.

 
Votre don aide à protéger les hommes et leurs familles du cancer de la prostate.
Vous  appuierez les projets de recherche les plus prometteurs, et vous fournirez aux hommes les soins et le soutien dont ils ont le plus besoin.  
Posted: 2019-02-08 11:19:02


Mots-clés

Local Hero Award #oneineight #unhommesurhuit A Survivorship Action Partnership Active adt advanced Alex Baumann Annual Moose & Goose Club Black Tie Dinner antigen ASAP athlete awareness Beam bénévole biopsies biopsy Bismar blood BOSSS Tournament Boutros Brachytherapy Bristow british Buttyan Calgary Canada Cancer caregiver Carreauté catheter CFL charity Chemotherapy cherry cnic collaboration collage columbia Conor Malone Cruisin’ For A Cure Canada Dad Daddy dads Dakar Rally day de deprivation detection diagnosis diagnostiqué digital dna do Do it for Dads doctor don donate DRE early Early detection ED Edmonton Education erection eric Eskimos exam experience External family Father Father and Sons Xcanada Father’s Day Walk/Run Father's Day FDiagnosis Football for Fred Chartrand funding fundraising fundrasier gènes genetics Golf Town Charity Classic health High-Intensity history hockey Hope Hormone international it Jack Layton L’ADN la l'APS Len Levesque lifelabs lottery loved mccormack Media men's moustache moustachus Movember MRI Murray Hill national nationale navigator of Olivia Chow one ones papa partership Paul PCC PCC Atlantic PCCN pee Pilot Grant Program Plaid post-surgery pour pre-surgery prosate cancer Prostate prostate cancer Prostate Cancer Awareness Day Prostate Cancer Canada Prostate Cancer Canada Network Prostate Cancer Canada Network Conference prostatecancer Prostatectomy Protect the 5 Hole PSA PSA blood test PSA levels PSA test PSA value psatest Radiation Radical radioligand raffle Ralph Randy Remington Randy Remington Charity Golf Classic recipe recovery rectal remember Research researcher Resources Rhodes Ride Rising risk road Rob robyn Rocco Rocco Rossi rock Rocktheroadraffle Rossi run Scotiabank StickIt Scotiabank Stick-It screened screening semaine sexuality Sled specific Star step Step Up Steve Jones story Stuart Edmonds support surgery Surveillance survivant survivor survivors survivorship programs T2:ERG Tarek test Test de l'APS testdelAPS testing the The Breast Friends The Randy Remington Golf Classic Therapy TIEd Together TIEd Together photo exhibit Treatment tribute tumours up urine urine test urologist volunteer volunteering Volunteerism volunteers Wake Up Call Breakfast walk Walk Run week winner World

Low oxygen in tumour cells leads to important discovery

Researchers at the Ontario Institute of Cancer Research have discovered markers in tumour cells with low oxygen that could predict cancer progression.

Says Dr. Paul Boutros, senior investigator of the study:

“We were initially motivated by the inability to differentiate between aggressive and non-aggressive prostate cancers, but our findings provide insights into how treatments might be developed for many tumour types.”

Vinayak Bhandari
The findings may also lead researchers to develop new types of treatment targeting cancer that becomes resistant because of a lack of oxygen reaching cells. 

Tumour cells thrive in environments with little oxygen, normal cells do not. This means cancer cells are often able to resist treatments and eventually spread. Researchers found several genes that mutated more often in low-oxygen cancers, and discovered new patterns of tumour growth in these cancers.

Vinayak Bhandari, lead author of the study, says that this study helped gain a comprehensive understanding of tumours, and created a biological signature that can identify which patients may benefit from more therapy.
 
Dr. Stuart Edmonds

Using more than 8,000 tumours from 19 different types of cancer, including prostate tumours from the Prostate Cancer Canada and Movember-funded CPC-GENE project, the findings could help doctors choose more effective treatments for each man with prostate cancer. Says Dr. Stuart Edmonds, Vice President of Research, Health Promotion and Survivorship at Prostate Cancer Canada:

“We’re filling a critical gap in personalized treatment, which is the future of care for the one in seven Canadian men who will be diagnosed with prostate cancer.”

“This research is opening new doors to improving outcomes for men and giving physicians the tools to select the best treatment for each patient,” he continues. “This will ultimately lead to better quality of life and an increased rate of survival.”

Dr. Robert Bristow, a former co-lead of the CPC-GENE project, says that while hypoxia (a lack of oxygen) was already known to be associated with aggressive prostate cancer, researchers didn’t yet understand exactly how it helped tumours grow in humans. “We can now start to exploit these findings into novel clinical trials to target hypoxia and abnormal genetics at the same time,” he says.
 
Drs. Boutros, Fraser and Bristow in their CPC-GENE lab

The study was supported by Prostate Cancer Canada, the Movember Foundation and OICR through CPC-GENE – the largest prostate cancer genomics project in the world. The project was also funded by the Terry Fox Research Institute. Tumour sample data was provided by CPC-GENE, the International Cancer Genome Consortium and The Cancer Genome Atlas project.

 
Your donation helps protect men and their families from prostate cancer.
You'll be supporting the most promising research projects, and providing men with care and support when they need it most. 
Posted: 2019-01-14 2:38:04 PM


Tags

Local Hero Award A Survivorship Action Partnership Active adt advanced Alex Baumann Annual Moose & Goose Club Black Tie Dinner antigen ASAP athlete awareness Beam biopsies biopsy Bismar blood BOSSS Tournament Boutros Brachytherapy Bristow british Buttyan Calgary Canada Cancer caregiver catheter CFL Chemotherapy cherry cnic columbia Conor Malone Cruisin’ For A Cure Canada Dad dads Dakar Rally day deprivation detection diagnosis digital dna do doctor don donate DRE early Early detection ED Edmonton Education erection eric Eskimos exam experience External family Father and Sons Xcanada Father’s Day Walk/Run FDiagnosis Football for Fred Chartrand funding fundraising genetics Golf Town Charity Classic health High-Intensity history hockey Hope Hormone international it Jack Layton Len Levesque lifelabs lottery loved mccormack Media men's moustache Movember MRI Murray Hill national navigator of Olivia Chow one ones partership Paul PCC PCC Atlantic PCCN pee Pilot Grant Program Plaid post-surgery pre-surgery prosate cancer Prostate prostate cancer Prostate Cancer Awareness Day Prostate Cancer Canada Prostate Cancer Canada Network Prostate Cancer Canada Network Conference prostatecancer Prostatectomy Protect the 5 Hole PSA PSA blood test PSA levels PSA test PSA value psatest Radiation Radical radioligand raffle Ralph Randy Remington Randy Remington Charity Golf Classic recovery rectal remember Research researcher Resources Rhodes Ride Rising risk road Rob robyn Rocco Rossi rock Rocktheroadraffle run Scotiabank StickIt Scotiabank Stick-It screened screening sexuality Sled specific Star step Steve Jones story Stuart Edmonds support surgery Surveillance survivor survivors survivorship programs T2:ERG Tarek test testing the The Breast Friends The Randy Remington Golf Classic Therapy TIEd Together TIEd Together photo exhibit Treatment tumours up urine urine test urologist volunteer volunteering Volunteerism volunteers Wake Up Call Breakfast walk week winner World

Archive

October 2019(2)
September 2019(7)
August 2019(6)
July 2019(5)
Juin 2019(0)
May 2019(5)
April 2019(4)
Mars 2019(5)
February 2019(6)
January 2019(4)
December 2018(1)
November 2018(1)
October 2018(3)
Septembre 2018(4)
August 2018(0)
July 2018(2)
June 2018(1)
April 2018(2)
February 2018(2)
December 2017(2)
October 2017(1)
April 2017(2)
February 2017(1)
December 2016(2)
July 2016(2)
May 2016(1)
March 2016(1)
December 2015(1)
November 2015(1)
September 2015(1)
July 2015(1)
June 2015(1)
April 2015(2)
March 2015(2)
February 2015(2)
January 2015(2)
December 2014(4)
November 2014(2)
August 2014(1)
July 2014(2)
May 2014(2)
April 2014(1)
December 2013(2)
November 2013(3)
October 2013(1)
September 2013(6)
August 2013(2)
September 2012(4)
August 2012(1)
June 2012(1)
April 2012(1)
March 2012(3)
February 2012(2)
January 2012(1)
October 2011(1)
June 2011(2)
January 2011(1)
November 2010(6)
October 2010(3)
September 2010(3)
August 2010(4)
July 2010(2)
February 2010(3)
January 2010(1)